Ham Biscuits from Easter Leftovers

IMG_1526As I was prepping for Easter last week, I couldn’t help but peruse a few sites for ideas and my favorite from that serach session was at Real Girl’s Kitchen where she posted her ultimate Easter menu.  While the menu itself wasn’t something I’d follow, she presented sumptuous meal for those ready to indulge.  My favorite? Ham and smoked gouda biscuits.  Since I still have some leftover ham in my fridge even though I’ve already eaten all of my favorite Easter stuffing for breakfast, I decided to try these biscuits this morning.

The biggest changes I made were to swap out the plain yogurt for greek yogurt since it was in the fridge and removed the cheese and chives.  I was thinking that the yogurt would be rich enough.  I had been planning on swapping out chives for onions (aka the pantry staple – done by sauteing until translucent but not totally soft then cooling in the fridge the day before).  I ended up needing to add water to get the batter to the right consistency.  Whoops.  I also make a second batch with sour cream.  I removed the cheese from that one, too, to keep things fair.     The end results?  I preferred the sour cream biscuits!  I’m pretty sure these babies are going to become staples in my post-Easter rotation.  They were a bit softer and had their own dairy flavor without adding additional cheese to the mix.  They’ll pair really well with corn chowder!  Something I’ll probably make in a couple of days to use up the very last bits of corn that I have handy.

IMG_1509

A few more recipes I might try: My Favorite Pastime. KAF says that you can freeze then bake their self-rising flour ham biscuits. Ham and cheese scones. Buttermilk biscuits.

IMG_1523

 

I’m including a modified recipe here since the original site slowed down my computer…

 

  • 1 cup left-over ham, diced fairly finely
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups Swiss, coarsely shredded (about 4 1/2 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup onions, chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups plain yogurt, (low-fat is okay)

Preheat the oven to 450F. Place a silicon baking sheet over a large baking sheet.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and baking soda. Use a pastry cutter to work in the butter until it resembles a coarse meal. Stir in the ham, cheese and chives. Add the yogurt, stirring until just combined.  Add cold water to get the dough to hold together if necessary.

Hand-form circular biscuits about half an inch thick and 3 inches in diameter and spread them across the baking sheet leaving an inch between biscuits, producing ~18 biscuits.  Mine were done in about 15 minutes.  (Original recipe: Drop the dough onto the prepared baking sheet in 12 equal mounds, about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden brown, 18 to 20 minutes.)

 

*If you don’t have leftover ham, use a ham steak, as opposed to deli-style sliced ham, for meaty cubes. You can find ham steaks in the deli section of most supermarkets.

*The original post suggests serving with maple butter.  These guys don’t need it but if you’re looking for something extra special for the table, it’d be a lovely addition.

IMG_1512

 

Leave a Reply

