Winter Salad

Every now and then I want a sturdier salad with my meal.  Whenever that happens I tend to reach for this one in the summer and this one in the winter.  Its a ton of chopping but actually keeps fairly well if you don’t dress the greens that make it to the fridge.

Ingredients:

-1 bunch kale, finely shredded (I do this by hand…)

-6 leaves of radicchio, sliced

-1/2 lb brussel sprouts, finely shredded (knife cuts)

-1/2 c. craisins

-1/4 c. pepitas (aka pumpkin seeds)

-lemon vinaigrette

Mix and serve!

Note that mixing the greens, dressing them and then topping them with the craisins and pepitas will probably result in the most even distribution of goodies.

Another side note:  the lemon vinaigrette I made was something that I threw together.  As imprecise as it is, the procedure I followed was to combine the juice of 1 lemon, a solid splash of white vinegar, a small splash of red wine vinegar, 3 times more olive oil than the acids, a good pinch of basil, some thyme and cumin (small shakes, really) and several grinds of black pepper.  I tend to follow intuition when it comes to vinaigrettes, taste and adjust until I have what I want.  The worst thing that’ll happen, generally, is that I have more salad dressing left over than I’ll use.

Leave a Reply

