Butternut Squash Quick Bread

Yumyum, eat ’em up!  That’s all that I could come up with at first when I sat down to write this post.  I made this quick bread from a recipe I turn to fairly frequently: Morning Glory Farm’s Zucchini Bread with the veggie switched out.  I played with the spices, too!  I did this last year for the Pumpkin Quick Bread and thought I’d try it out with butternut squash this year.  All I have to say is that this bread flew off the table at a party I brought it to recently!

IMG_1758

In order to prep the butternut squash, I baked it until fork-tender in the oven before letting it cool so that I could add it to the batter without scrambling the eggs.   I decided to omit the cinnamon and substituted in 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp ground cardamom, and 1/4 tsp allspice.  My hand may or may not have slipped when I added in the cardamom.  Because its such a large batter and the butternut squash isn’t as buttery as zucchini, it was still a lightly spiced bread by my standards.  My beau asked for even more spicing the next time I make this!

ps.  I’d also say that if you happened to have a couple scoops of butternut squash leftover from the Thanksgiving table, this would be a great place to use them!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

