Autumn Harvest Pie

IMG_0987What better way to give thanks for life’s bounty than with the season’s ingredients?  This pie is filled with freshly harvested goodies – apples, cranberries, walnuts and orange.  The recipe comes from the Morning Glory Farm’s second cookbook – a place that is part farm, part farm-stand and part local grocer located on Martha’s Vineyard where they’re known for their baked goods and fresh produce.  I’m mildly obsessed with their devouring their blueberry muffins whenever I’m on the island and making a chocolate cake version of their zucchini bread whenever I’m home.  My beau made the chocolate cake as our wedding cake!  All that being said, it is time to branch out and try a few more of their recipes.  It turned out to be such a good idea.

IMG_1079

A few notes on the process:  I ended up using two oranges on my first cake and it over-powered the cake a bit but I felt like that was the correct volume of zest for what the recipe called for!  I also chose to do the streusel topping instead of two round of pie.  It stretches the dough recipe so that I can make two pies instead of one!  And boy was it a win all around.  That being said, I did cut down on the amount of streusel from the very beginning.  I used about three-quarters the amount suggested in the recipe.  And while I used a bit of butter, I mostly used EVOO as my fat for the streusel.  I found that using EVOOLemon gives it a nice acidic kick but the orange is divine. produced the same crumbles and baked up to a buttery taste.  (This is not something I’d suggest playing around with in the pie crust itself, though!)

The second batch of pie I halved the amount streusel called for in the recipe and found that I didn’t miss the extra topping – I was better able to taste all the filling ingredients instead!  The other change I made was to use lemon instead of orange since I had picked up a bag of lemons to use in another recipe.  Stick with the orange flavor notes, people.

IMG_1076

I’m of to enjoy another slice!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That crust! Om nom nom! I love the idea of using seasonal ingredients, and this combination just sounds heavenly to me. I can imagine this being very fresh and sweet. The images look fantastic. Great blog by the way!

    Would you by any chance be interested in having some of your work shared/featured on Creators.co? I’d love to see more of this kind of content on the platform. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail (you can find my contact details on my blog) for more information. I’d love to expand on that. Hope to hear from you.

    Like

    1. Michelle says:

      Aww, that is so sweet of you! Seasonal ingredients really are the best and I love highlighting them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

