Banana Bread: Choosing a Style

Ok, so everyone lets their bananas get super ripe with the sole purpose of making them into banana bread, right?  So that they’re practically covered in those little brown-black speckles and extra soft?  No?  Well you should.  It makes the best banana bread.  Or muffins in this case.  My favorite thing to do is to have one or two bananas just about ready to make into banana bread and then toss in a third banana from the freezer that I had pulled out to defrost the day before in the fridge.  I’m not opposed to all my bananas coming from the freezer either…  It just always seems like its just one or two bananas that make it to the quick bread stage!IMG_1673
Now here’s the thing: I’ve found a recipe that I like and so has my sister so I decided that they needed to go tete-a-tete to determine a ‘winner.  Her recipe (shared at the bottom) calls for a lot more liquid and less banana whereas mine has more banana and baking powder.  The winner, however, isn’t so clear-cut.  It depends on what type of banana bread you are looking for.
My sister’s recipe leads to a smaller muffin due to less rise of the batter.  Its sweeter since it has more sugar but its also moister and has a cake-ier feel to it.  Its worth noting that this is the recipe that my mom prefers!!!
IMG_1686
Inside my recipe
IMG_1671
“Top” muffins is the recipe I use
The recipe that I tend to stick to rises more even those its a denser batter to pour.  Its a classic banana bread that isn’t overly sweet – although the more bananas you add from the freezer, the looser the batter becomes.  Its a slightly drier muffin, possibly due to the fact that these finished before the timer went off so I didn’t watch them as closely as the others as they finished baking.  But these also had much more banana flavor instead of a sweet brown sugar flavor to them.  Its a classic banana bread that I often make into loaf form even though its specifically written for muffins.  Which may explain why I thought I had more time before they would finish than they did…
Final notes: I made both sets of muffins from the same bunch of small bananas.  I used three small bananas in my sisters recipe and four in mine.  If they were large bananas, I would have used  two and three, respectively.  They were not in the oven at the same time since each recipe calls for different temperatures.  Her recipe made 14.5 muffins and mine produced 9.5 muffins.  Yes, that half a muffin was put together to make a single, whole muffin.  Finally, if you use my recipe to make a loaf, don’t use the crumble topping.  It will over bake.  That being said, its very impressive to bring crumble-anything to a brunch party.
Changes: In my sister’s recipe, I cut the white sugar by half a cup.  It could probably be cut further without noticing.  While I used the butter that is called for in my recipe, I generally use olive oil when making these.  They had a slightly metallic taste this time and I’m not sure if its because the bananas were about a day ‘underdone’ for me or if it was because I used butter instead of olive oil.  Or maybe my baking powder was fresher than normal…or a different brand?  Note to self: keep learning about baking powder.
N’s Banana bread
Ingredients:
2 eggs,
1/3 cup milk
1 tsp lemon juice (or vinegar)
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 cup mashed banana
1 1/3 cup flour
1 1/2 cup sugar – mom did 1 cup once and it was still sweet
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda

Steps:

Preheat oven to 340.
Prep loaf pan.
In large mixing bowl, beat eggs.
Pour milk into measuring cup, not quite 1/3 and add lemon juice. Let sit for 2 min.
Add oil to eggs and beat. Add milk and vanilla and beat.
Mash bananas and add to liquid ingredients.
Sift dry ingredients into another bowl. Stir slowly into wet ingredients.
Pour into loaf pan and bake for 1hour 20 min.
Cool for 30 min.
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

