Apple Cake a la Barefoot Contessa

Is it bad to say that every now and then I dream about my life as the Barefoot Contessa?  Who doesn’t want to spend their time split between NYC, the Hamptons and Paris?  Granted, my version of that looks something a little more like Boston, Martha’s Vineyard and Paris but we overlap a bit there.  Have I mentioned that I lived in Paris for a little bit?  And I’ve been dreaming about going back ever since.  Seriously.  I tried to figure out how to go back between my senior year finals and graduation to visit a girlfriend who was still in the city.  Turns out that I would have missed my graduation ceremony because a valcano exploded in Iceland and planes were grounded.  Then again, I would have been stuck in Paris and how bad could that have been?

IMG_0662

I make this cake a couple of times a year, usually with pears that are just good enough to bake with because I got too excited at the farmer’s market and came home with a few too many goodies.  The recipe itself calls for peaches – either when they’re in season or frozen.  Its delicious and I love it so I figured I’d try it with apples.  I used three medium apples of different varieties that I sliced thinly for the most part.  About a quarter of an inch.  The slices were distributed between the cake layers and on top and everything was sprinkled with sugar and spices (and everything nice).

IMG_0667

3 Comments Add yours

  1. anisakazemi says:

    yummmm can smell it from here!

    Like

    1. Michelle says:

      Thank you for stopping by! Its pretty delicious and I’m looking forward to the summer when I have some extra pears to make this cake. That’s my very favorite version so far!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

