Tuscan White Bean and Parmesan Soup

IMG_0410

Winter is officially in full force which means its soup season in my household.  I flipped through the Food Lab  (its officially returned to the library now!) to see if I could find another recipe to try.  Now, there are plenty that I have book-marked in my mind but I was looking for a pantry dish.  Beans, kale, veggies and chicken stock were all there.  Bonus: the soup sounded rich and hearty thanks to the beans.  And it delivered on three important qualities: quick and simple, satisfying and, yes, hearty.

Again, The version of the recipe I’m sharing is abbreviated as if it were one of my recipe cards.

1 medium onion, chopped

2 medium carrots, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 t chili flakes

4 cups chicken broth

2 15-oz cans of white beans WITH liquid

2 T rosemary (recipe calls for fresh)

a hunk of Parm rind

2-3 bay leaves (3 for me)

3-4 cups of leaves (I filled a large salad bowl, so maybe 5 cups)

salt and pepper

Cook the trinity until soft then add in the spices to wake them up (not the bay).  After about a minute add in rind, beans, broth and bay and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer, add the kale, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Remove all the extras (rind and bay), top with fresh parm and serve.

*The recipe says to process a bit of the soup but I really didn’t feel the need.  The bean juice makes it thick enough for me and I like the chunks.  If you don’t, feel free to puree the soup a bit.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

