Green Tomato Relish

IMG_0053A while ago I mentioned that I’d talk about the green tomato relish I found on AllRecipes and one from Emeril’s book Farm to Fork for Green Tomato Piccalilli.  At that point I had just made some roasted tomato sauce and a green tomato apple pie.  What I didn’t tell you is that I had probably harvested 20 pounds of green tomatoes from the garden.  And I had barely made a dent in all those tomatoes.  I used between 12 and 13 pounds of green tomatoes making relish.  To keep things interesting, I made one batch of the green tomato relish and three batches of picallili with each picallili focusing on a unique variety of tomato.  I wanted to see if using a single source was significant because I had 3 very different varieties of tomatoes.  The end result?  The jury is still out on that one.  I’ll let you know when I get an update – all the small jars were gifted for Christmas this year!  I’m also really happy that I tried out two different recipes because it helps to inform me which set of seasoning I prefer.  Emeril’s won that battle for anyone who is curious.

IMG_0041
All the different parts of the system.  You can see the overnight prep, day-of prep and cooking of the multiple batches.

If you want to try making your own piccalilli (or see if Emeril’s book is for you), try his recipe below:

Emeril’s recipe for Green Tomato Piccalilli (2.5 quarts)

  • 3 lbs of greens tomatoes, cored and sliced
  • 4 med onions, chopped
  • 1/4 c kosher salt
  • 2 red bell peppers, chopped
  • 1.5 c packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 2 c white vinegar
  • 1 c apple cider vinegar
  • 2 long cinnamon sticks
  • 1 Tbsp yellow mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  1. Layer the onions and tomatoes with salt in a *non-reactive* bowl, cover and let it refrigerate overnight
  2. Drain and rinse the mixture, transfer to a non-reactive pot and add in everything else.  Bring to a boil then simmer for 30 min.  You’re looking for soft ‘veggies’.
  3. Removed the cinnamon sticks and transfer to jars for processing.  If they seal, the piccalilli will last for a year.  If not, store the jars in the fridge and use the piccalilli within 2 months.

A side note on the book: I love that this book is really focused on using all the bits and pieces.  Its also super accessible.  I haven’t noticed anything that is particularly exotic or complicated.  It really is all about using every part of the produce.  One recipe I really want to try out next summer is the watermelon rind crisp sweet pickles.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard of tomato piccalilli – sounds really nice!
    Tania @ http://www.thegammonkitchen.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    It was new for me, too! One of the family members who received a set of piccallili for Christmas just let me know that they’ll be using it on top of roast beef sandwiches – I’m excited to see how it works as a topping for them. I recently had a traditional raclette dish at my in-laws that topped potatoes with the cheese and pickled gherkins (cornichons). The gherkins were a little strong for me but I really enjoyed the dish and will probably make it at home substituting the gherkins with the piccallili

    http://www.raclette.com.au/raclette_recipes/original_raclette_recipe.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

