Leeks, Ham and Cheddar Crustless Quiche

IMG_0090
Crustless quiche prepped for the oven.

I’ve mentioned before that I love making crustless quiche.  Its a quick dinner to throw together, healthy and can clear out whatever is in the fridge.  This version consists of leek, ham and cheddar cheese.

As you can see I used up the entire leek  from top to bottom minus the leafy bits(it was gigantic, look for 3 small ones or maybe 2 medium leeks if they huge like the one I used today).  My beau and I like some crunch so they weren’t cooked down since they break down a bit while baking.   Please make sure to cover the baking dish with aluminum foil since the leeks are so much ‘taller’ than the eggs are when they go into the oven.  This prevents the leeks form burning and it essentially creates a sauna for the eggs and they rise up nice and tall.  I may have learned this tid-bit from trial and error.

IMG_0093
Quiche when its not covered in foil…

Butter the dish, half a cup of small diced ham (I picked up a pork shoulder when it was on sale then packaged and froze it in serving portions), one large leek or more as size decreases and half a cup of cheddar cheese and finally the eggs, spices and half a cup of dairy mixed then poured onto the other ingredients in the dish.  I go with heavy cream, generally.

Bake the whole thing at 375*F until the edges are browned and center is still soft without looking raw. 45 minutes seems to work for me.  Once it comes out of the oven, let it cool for 5-10 min and dig in!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks great! I love leeks! I posed a recipe for a quiche where I used shredded potatoes for the crust. You might like it! You can find me at insidekelskitchen.wordpress.com.

    Like

    1. Michelle says:

      Thank you so much for the suggestion! I look forward to trying it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

