Pumpkin Quick Bread

IMG_0251
Pumpkin Bread with 3 cups of Pumpkin

I had a few pumpkins from the garden that were starting to near the end of their lives so into the oven they went.  After they roasted, I needed something to do with them…but what?  Somewhere in the back of my mind, I had decided that I would see if I could switch out pumpkin for zucchini in the zucchini bread recipe I love.  After a little tweaking, the answer became yes!

IMG_0204
The pumpkins pre-roast

Essentially, the biggest tricks were swapping out the spices and increasing the amount of veggies beyond what the recipe calls for.  Now, I generally increase the amount of zucchini because it leads to a very moist bread.* So I tried the recipe with both 2 and 3 cups of pumpkin in the bread.  3 cups of pumpkin won easily because its a moister, more pumpkin-y bread.  Spices included cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg.  Since I used home-roasted pumpkins, I pureed the pumpkin with the olive oil prior to mixing in the other ingredients.  (My pumpkin was old and stringy – no one wants stringy bread.) The oil allows the food processor to work efficiently while the act of processing the food allows for a very smooth consistency of the pumpkin itself.

This is definitely something that is going to be in rotation over the holiday season because it leaves you with a warm, homey feeling!

 

*The only problem is that extra zucchini takes forever to bake up.  Mostly because I ignore everyone’s directions to drain the zuc of its moisture.  Generally it takes 30-50 minutes longer, based on the size of the zuc.  The larger it is, the longer it takes because they have a higher percentage of water

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Michaela says:

    Wow this sounds delightful. I am going to try this, because I have two bowls filled with pumpkin puree from where I roasted some pumpkins. I had no idea what to do with it. I did make some pumpkin pancakes one morning which were good. But pumpkin bread never crossed my mind. Thank you for the idea.
    https://countrybumpkincooking.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

