Crustless Quiche – Onions, Mozz and Tomatoes

Crustless quiche made with the first of this seasons garden fresh tomatoes - Yum!
Crustless quiche made with the first of this seasons garden fresh tomatoes – Yum!

So when I have no clue what to make for dinner but have tons of leftovers or way too much produce from the garden, quiche should be one of the first things comes to mind.  I had some leftover sauteed onions, mozzarella and way too many tomatoes from the garden to eat on my own.  The beau has a low tolerance for uncooked tomatoes so I’m trying to figure out how to cook them because I could live on tomato based salads.  Which also explains why I’ve got tons of mozzarella in the fridge – an ode to the simplicity of Italian cooking!

Since all of my home-made crusts look like they have chicken pox, I nixed the crust and simply buttered the pie dish and layered my ingredients: half a cup of chopped/cooked onion, half a cup mozz, a full layer of tomatoes (pear shaped yellow ones from the garden this time), a sprinkle of pepper and Parmesan cheese and finally the eggs.  Everything was topped off with a sprinking of freshly ground pepper before getting thrown into the oven.

Baked the whole thing at 375*F until the edges are browned and center is still soft without looking raw. 45 minutes seems to work for me.  Once it comes out of the oven, let it cool for 5-10 min and dig in!  I’d suggest serving it with some crusty bread then grab your slice and watch the rest disappear!

You can see the layers of the crustless quiche as soon as you cut into it!
You can see the layers of the crustless quiche as soon as you cut into it!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

